
What is a life of simplicity?
Is simplicity equal poverty (like Mother Theresa and Saint Francis of Assisi) or frugality? For example: being careful and keep re-thinking and discussing (between spouses) whether to buy that video recorder? Is the “Poverty Saint Syndrome” the way to holiness for the Christians (like Mother Theresa; Saint Anthony who sold away all his wealth and lived in poverty; like Saint Francis who foregone all his father’s wealth and lived a life of asceticism??)
When you have just sufficient for the family, living in simplicity is easy. (You don’t have a choice to spend and to waste).
Last Sunday, Pastor shared how he lives a life of simplicity and how he spends prudently. It is quite easy to live simply and spends prudently when you just have sufficient. Hearing him talking and his needs for a piggy-bank as a reminder to save tells me that he does not have abundance. How much should full-time church workers be paid? Shouldn’t their salary be peg to those working as social workers and counselors?
Ya!! Maybe the church should relook into his salary!! :) What do the rest of you think?
How does one who has abundances yet lives a life of simplicity?
Is it OK when we have abundance to also adopt a life of convenience? By that, I mean buying 2 cars (one is a very cheap car) to make travelling and transportation more convenient for the family? Have 2 or more computers at home so that family members need not wait for one another to use it. Having a mobile iPhone … Is there any wrong with these?
Or is a life of simplicity just a change of mind-set?: (This is what I do)
(1) Not pressured into last minute purchase – No “last day sales discount”?
(2) Buy for needs rather than wants – is a hand phone a need or a want?
(3) Share rather than own things – one computer 4 or 5 people share?
(4) No need branded goods – normal running shoes, No Nike, Adidas or New Balance?
(5) “Waste not, want not” mentality
(6) Habit to give freely
(7) No addiction, no covetousness – see a nice handbag, must buy. No free football channel, must subscribed to pay TV?.
Like to hear from you all! :)

